Friday, February 26, 2016

New on Freegal

There is new music being added to the Freegal site constantly. Here is just a small sampling of what has just arrived:

It’s You by Zayn

Former One Direction band member Zayn debuted at #1 with his first single “Pillowtalk”. Per Billboard, “Pillowtalk” is only the 25th song by a new artist to debut at #1 in music history. He is also the first solo artist that was previously part of a top all-male band to hit the top of the charts since George Harrison split with the Beatles. Zayn just released a new single from his upcoming LP called “It’s You” and it’s sure to increase his already extensive fan base. 

Evol by Future

Evol became the third number one album by Hip Hop artist Future in less than 7 months. Quantity is not a lack of quality in this case. Billboard writes that he “hits his songwriting stride” on Evol, and that “the run that Future continues to enjoy is nothing short of historic.” Spin Magazine says the release is “a great showcase of Future’s ability to combine different styles, voices, and melodies in one song with such ease.”

Summertime:Willie Nelson Sings Gershwin

Willie Nelson has had an astounding career over the years. Among other accomplishments he has 11 Grammy Awards, 7 American Music Awards, and 9 Country Music Awards. The artist has been given a Grammy Legend Award, a Lifetime Achievement Award, and he has been celebrated at the Kennedy Center Honors. Last year the Library of Congress gave him the prestigious Gershwin Prize. That honor is bestowed upon artists who have made outstanding lifetime contributions to popular song. Mr. Nelson was the first country music artist to receive the prize. His newest album “Summertime: Willie Nelson sings Gershwin" is a tribute to the Gershwins and likely inspired by the recent prize. With regards to this new release the New York Times writes that “he sounds as insightful and irreplaceable as ever.”

The Art of Hustle by Yo Gotti

The latest album by American Rapper Yo Gotti is “unquestionably the biggest of his career” according to Considering that his previous LP “I Am” was nominated for Album of the Year at the 2014 BET Hip Hop Awards, that review is quite a statement. The Art of Hustle includes guest vocals from some top artists such as Nicki Minaj, K. Michele, and Lil' Wayne.

You Are Not Alone by Walk The Moon

 This alternative rock band has done very well making a name for themselves. Their hit song “Shut Up And Dance” broke the record for the most weeks at #1 on the Hot Rock Songs Chart per Billboard. “You Are Not Alone” is their first live album. It was recorded during a sold out show at the Greek Theater in Los Angeles. 

Rogue Waves by Miguel

Tame Impala, Kacey Musgraves and Travis Scott each have a turn at  remixing the song “Waves” for singer/songwriter Miguel in this new bundle release. The tune originally appeared on Miguel’s Grammy nominated LP “Wildheart”. These new remixes are receiving outstanding reviews from critics. Spin says “Miguel and Kacey Musgraves are a match made in heaven.” writes that Miguel and Travis Scott are “stellar”.